top of page
Search

My Journey Blog - Shannon D's story


Hey, My names Shannon and I’m 25 years old. I have a crazy toddler named Keolan, he is 18 months old and being his mom is the best job in the world! We found out we were pregnant in November 2018 a moment I thought I would never experience.


This all began when we lost our first baby in December 2016 now that was heartbreak, I have never felt so failed by own body.

We attended our scan to find out that he/she had no heartbeat, 1 week passed and we hoped that things would be okay (in my dreams). Unfortunately, I started to bleed and suffered a very traumatic miscarriage, I ended up being admitted to hospital as I was loosing so much blood. After a few months passed we decided to start trying for a baby again, what an exciting journey we thought it would be. A few years passed and we still weren't pregnant so I was referred to a fertility clinic where I had every test going, but they still couldn’t find a problem...for me that actually made things worst! Eventually, they figured out that I wasn’t ovulating so I started a course of tablets called Clomid, which basically makes you ovulate. After two cycles we were pregnant! Never have I ever been so grateful in all my life.


My pregnancy started with your normal sickness and exhaustion but I loved it because I was having a baby. But I had quite a tricky pregnancy Keolans heart rate was always unstable, his movement were abnormal and I also ended up with preeclampsia. So I pretty much lived at Heartlands hospital in Birmingham. I was induced at 35 weeks and told to basically expect the worst as he was going to be premature but he came out the most beautiful healthy 5lbs boy, he was so tiny and perfect. Labour was also very traumatic for me, I lost a lot of blood and had to be sent for surgery as they couldn’t stop my bleeding. I spent 5 days in high dependency but, honestly, I wouldn’t change any of my journey as I wouldn’t have Keolan if I did.


My advice to anyone having difficulty getting pregnant, suffering loss or having a bad pregnancy is things do always fall into place sometimes bad things happen so you get the good and always speak to people! It really does helps! There are apps and mom groups that I joined and I wouldn’t of got through those tough times with out them.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
Post: Blog Post Gallery
bottom of page