top of page
Search

My Journey Blog - Shannon C's Story


Hi, my name is Shannon chisholm. I am 24 years old and am currently on maternity leave enjoying long walks and quality time with my new baby boy Tommy who is my first child. I’ve been with my partner coming up 9 years this April! We met at school and have been together ever since and we now have our little bundle of joy and are looking to buy are first home. But this is currently on hold due to the Covid-19 pandemic.


When I found out I was expecting I was completely and utterly over the moon and didn’t know what to expect! During my pregnancy we went into a pandemic which had a huge impact on appointments. I had to travel to so many different places and private companies to have my scans done, as my local hospital was having to reduce the amount of people they were seeing at one time. My scans had to be done on my own, which for me was completely heartbreaking that my partner had to miss out on this happy time as this was our very first experience of having a baby together. But due to certain rules I had to do all of this alone.

Although my partner was there to support me, the whole pregnancy I felt alone and let down that the other parent of my child was not getting the same experience as I was. Just because I was the WOMAN in this situation. I will never forgive the system for letting all men and daddy’s to be down by forcing them to miss out on so much.


During my labour I was lucky enough to have my boyfriend pretty much come in with me right away. When I arrived at the hospital, I was checked over and was already 4cm dilated. Due to complications I was rushed down to theatre as I had to have a forceps procedure done. Despite my partner having been with me in the birthing suite for almost 18 hours. Doctors wouldn't allow him to come into theatre with me because we both refused to have the Covid-19 test. This being because I was in labour and in alot of distress and by that time my partner was extremely tired as you can probably understand. After arguing this, he was let in to support me and be there during the birth of our child! But imagine if he wasn't allowed? I would have had to go through this very traumatic and scary experience all alone!


But we finally had a healthy baby boy weighing 8lbs 7oz!


Words can not express the feeling of becoming a mother, having this tiny person come into your life and bring you so much joy and love. Honestly becoming a mom is by far my best achievement in life. And I truly feel blessed to be given this chance. I can’t get enough of having lots of cuddles and watching my baby grow. From seeing his little smiles and him knowing my voice, my smell and my calm collective self! He knows who I am and to me that’s everything. I have loved being the person to put his first nappy on. Giving him his first feed. Picking out his first outfit to come home in. I could keep going but there to much to say!


Things about motherhood I find challenging are remembering everything...especially when I'm planning to go out. I get myself stressed out making sure I have all I need and find myself going over and over it again to ensure it is all there. I also find it challenging asking for help. And making sure I get some time to myself as I just feel guilty for wanting that.


If I was to give anyone advice. I would say expect the unexpected because not everyone’s child or baby will be the same you don’t no how there going to be. Try not to stress to much because becoming a mother does have its challenges but you learn each and every single day. There no right and no wrong in what you do. You are the mommy to your child, no one else and what ever you chose to do for your child is your right and no one can tell you any different. Embrace you mom bods, the stretch marks, the tired eyes and scraggy hair. My advice would be to anyone becoming a mom, just do you. No one can tell you any different and you are amazing with everything you have and will achieve


Mommas chisholm 2020

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
Post: Blog Post Gallery
bottom of page