top of page
Search

My Journey Blog - Sarah's story #Adoptionspecial

Updated: Jun 15, 2021

1. Tell us a little about yourself?

Hello my name is Sarah and I am 24 years old, At the moment my day to day life consists of home learning, playing and lots of walks.

I have 2 children my eldest is nearly four years old and my youngest is nearly 5 months. I was lucky that after my adoption, I had some amazing childhood experiences. I got to meet lots of other children and families that had also been through the adoption process and we were able to play and share our stories with one another.


2. Has your experience with adoption influenced the way you parent your own children?

Adoption has made me teach my children that not every child is as lucky as them to have two loving parents and to appreciate everything they have.


3. If you could give one piece of advice to someone considering adopting a child, what would it be?

Some advice I would give to someone looking or thinking to adopt is don’t second guess it, just do it .. It’s not going to be easy, the process is going to be hard but at the end of it your going to have given a child the best thing possible, a loving family. For most children that’s something they have from the moment they are born but, for other children it’s something they dream of


There are currently 123,000 children in the UK who are either in the care system or under a child protection plan. Adoption can be an extremely rewarding way of giving all children a safe, secure & stable home life. If you are interested in adoption, or have adopted children and need some support, please take a look at the links below for support services that are available:


https://www.adoptionuk.org/ - A charity providing support, community and advocacy for all those parenting or supporting children who cannot live with their birth parents. They connect adoptive families, provide information and signposting on a range of adoption-related issues and campaign for improvements to adoption policy and legislation


https://www.barnardos.org.uk/adopt - Barnardo’s has joined a coalition of national, regional and voluntary adoption agencies across the country, supported by the Department for Education, to launch #YouCanAdopt, a national campaign aiming to raise awareness around adoption and dispel some of the myths around who is eligible to adopt


https://www.actionforchildren.org.uk/how-we-can-help/ - Help children across the UK to grow up safe and happy, by offering practical and emotional support to families. And are currently working with decision-makers to make sure government policies protect children, now and in the future.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
Post: Blog Post Gallery
bottom of page