top of page
Search

My Journey Blog - Kiana's story

Hi, my name is Kiana, I am 24 years old and I am a mom of two. My daughters’ names are Arya and Thea, Arya is six and Thea is two. I am a single mom, and I am not currently in a relationship. My day to day life is quite busy, usually the kids wake up between 7:30 - 8:00am. I try to wake up before them but it doesn’t always happen. I get Arya and Thea ready in the morning, then prepare their breakfast, after breakfast Arya goes to school and then I spend time with Thea. Thea usually watches a morning cartoon, while I get things sorted out for work, as I am a business owner I have a lot of flexibility on when I can do work. I try and take time to teach Thea some things, then when school is done Arya usually has dance or karate, so I drop her to her after school activities and I start prepping dinner, while the kids play with their toys. Then I put the kids to bed, while the kids are sleeping is usually when I get most of my work done.


I got pregnant at 16, in my last year of high school. Luckily my pregnancy was very easy; I had zero complications. With the help of my guidance counsellors and teachers, I was fortunate to finish high school. I submitted all of my assignments on time and was still able to graduate with honours. When my daughter Arya was first born my ex was in her life but he was never consistent with spending time with her. He didn’t want to be a dad, I think he was just too young. Because of his inconsistency it put a lot more responsibility on me. I was forced to raise Arya alone while still trying to attend university and work. It was really difficult balancing all of these things but I had the support of my parents which helped quite a bit. I enjoyed spending time with Arya as it was just the two of us, so parenting was pretty easy. When I got pregnant with my second daughter Thea, it complicated things. My pregnancy was pretty rough, I was in a bad place mentally and emotionally. It was really hard and I felt very alone. I didn’t know many people with two kids, none of my friends had kids which made me feel extremely isolated from other people in my age group. Thea was a cranky baby, so I was sleep deprived and always drained of energy, which definitely negatively impacted my parenting with Arya. Things only improved as Thea and Arya got older. Personally, I believe parenting two kids single handedly is much more difficult than parenting one, especially two girls. It feels like they are always fighting for my attention.


My favourite thing about motherhood is watching the kids grow. I love spending time with the kids and teaching them new things. I love that I’ve been given the responsibility to care for these little human beings that put so much trust in me.


Things about motherhood that I find challenging is multitasking. It is hard to find a balance between giving my kids all the love and attention they need and also taking care of myself at the same time. It is stressful when you have to do everything on your own but what I have learnt is to always ask for help, whether it be from a grandparent or a close friend.


Being a single parent has its ups and downs but I wouldn’t trade it for the world, I love being a mom even with all the ups and downs. If I could go back and give my younger self some advice it would be to, ‘always follow your heart, you’re not alone and everything does get easier. You’re stronger than you think, just trust your instincts’


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
Post: Blog Post Gallery
bottom of page